About the ‘About’ Page

by Zhenya

Is it just me, or do you also feel the need to make changes and reviews in various areas of your life at this time of the year? I am currently in that mood!

My old About page on this blog said the following:

Title: About the site, the author, and … Wednesdays

Hi there, My name is Zhenya Polosatova and I am learning how to write a blog. It is Wednesday today, and I also called this blog Wednesday Seminars. Coincidence? Almost: for a long time of my employed career I used to work in a language school where every Wednesday we would have a Professional Development (PD) meeting with all the teachers. Well, to be more precise, every week I had to prepare and then run this session. Our school had about 15 teachers on average, and most of them were very experienced (and those who had less experience had a huge desire to learn things about teaching, learning, classroom management ideas, etc.) At various times I had a different attitude to those seminars: from being really excited about the idea to really not knowing what else to bring; from being happy and inspired by the teachers’ response, to feeling down and sad and even lost… Anyway, those sessions helped me develop as a teacher and trainer, and also helped me stay realistic about my own limits and motivated me to learn new things every week. I miss the school, and I miss those seminars. I opened a folder on my computer (by now you can easily guess the folder’s name) and I saw that I have so many notes of those sessions: some are detailed, some are sketchy, some refer to a paper handout or a picture which I am not sure I can find now, some are really simple and even a bit naive, and some are still relevant and can be used in my next course for teachers… I decided to share them here, and then who knows, maybe they can also help someone else trying to figure out what to bring to the teachers in their schools?

I re-read the above and felt the urge for a change. First of all, I realized that I have not been writing from my old folder with sessions notes and activity ideas — instead, new ones popped up in my head. Second, I now see this blog as a reflective space more than anything, and much less as a place for sharing teaching ideas. Need to be honest with my readers. Third, I think starting this blog helped me feel better about not being a part of the school any longer, and I think I finally came over that nostalgic feeling I used to have. I feel I am ready to move forward.

Now I have a question to myself: what will my About page be saying? What is this blog about? How is it different from writing a private professional (reflective) journal? One thing I know for sure is that there will be a word ‘reflection’ on that page.

As you see, my new About page is currently … loading. Under construction. Thank you for reading, and for joining me in my beginning blogging steps this year.

Notes:

  1. the ‘likes’ on my About page were given for the previous text on that page (not sure what to do about this, need your advice)

  2. the picture I chose earlier still shows how I feel about the various aspects of the job I am doing, and the industry I am in. I will keep it.

  3. the name of this blog will also remain the same: Wednesday Seminars at International House DNK are a warm reminder of, and appreciation for, the passionate commitment to professional development of everyone working there.