Thank You My PLN, and Happy 2016!

by Zhenya

This is one of the posts I have been meaning to write, and have been keeping hand-written notes for in various places, but never had a ‘proper chance’ to write. I could not even define what ‘proper’ could mean: does it need to be a certain number of posts (50? 100? 200?), or years (1, 2, 5?) or followers? Or a specific event that would be a good excuse to post this Special Post? Or a special time of the year?

None of the above-mentioned are true for this post: it is number 63 (I think) on my blog, and it has been slightly over two years of my (semi-regular) writing here, and no ‘special events’ on the horizon. I just decided to write it today! The key reason is feeling grateful.

Grateful to the readers (You!) who read what I share, sometimes ‘liking’ posts, and/or sharing them in the social media, and/or commenting and linking your posts to mine, and/or responding with a new post on the same topic on your blogs. Thank You for reading and being in touch!

I am also grateful to have my former course participants as readers/followers/commenters of this blog: it is exciting to know that the conversations we had in class continue on a new level, and this communication makes me feel that blogging has a purpose, it is a ‘real thing’ as opposed to something completely virtual. Thank You! 

Another group of people I am grateful for reading is my peers, my fellow trainers, the colleagues with whom we have co-taught on a course (or several courses) and with whom it is oftentimes hard to be in touch due to schedules, time zones, waves of work/travel/life, etc. I am grateful that this little space provides another form of communication which I respect, value and look forward to.

I thought I would also add a list with specific words and links. I realize now it would make the post too long to read, and my personalized Thank You notes too short, and even formal. I just want to say a big Thank You for clicking on the e-mail with my post you get, or for following the link in your WP Reader, and… reading and thinking together.

I am wishing all of you, all of us a good end of the calendar year, some quieter time for those of you who have school breaks, some exciting time for those of you who hit the road (for work or for pleasure), some quality time with the loved ones, some reflection time on your own, and some inspired writing time no matter how you are spending these days.

As always, thank you for reading! 🙂

P.S.

As some of you may already know, I like running and read about running. The quote I am sharing is from Kristin Armstrong’s article on Runners’ World. (Hint: replace ‘run’ with ‘write’ or ‘blog’)

To go the distance and keep going after that, the only sustainable place to start is from a place of gratitude and love. This place is the healing place, the healthy place, the joyful place, the place where you run simply because you love to run. This is the tank that never runs dry.

You can download the whole calendar here: http://petrykivka.dp.ua/calendar-2016/

The month of January by Veronica Taylor http://petrykivka.dp.ua/calendar-2016/

P.P.S

It is the end of the calendar year, and in this part of the world the night from December 31 to January 1 is filled with magic, expecting a miracle, and gifts to those we love. I am taking this chance and sharing a link to a free 2016 calendar offered generously by several artists on Petrykivka website (free for non-commercial use)

There are several reasons I am excited to share this calendar:

  1. Petrykivka is a village in the area near Dnipro, or Dnipropetrovsk, my native city in Ukraine. Petrykivka has always been famous in Ukraine for their special style of decorative painting, and about two years ago UNESCO recognized it as a ‘phenomenon of the Ukrainian ornamental folk art’. My international friends and colleagues already have little Petrykivka souvenirs from me 🙂
  2. The idea of the calendar is to spread the word about this kind of art – in Ukraine, and around the world (so I am sharing it with the blogging community)
  3. My friend Veronica Taylor was involved in making this particular calendar (she created the month of January, which you can see in the image to this post). She now lives in Troy, Alabama, with her family, but the distance is not an obstacle to participating in this exciting project. She shares some of her other works on Facebook, you can check here or here.

The calendar can be seen and downloaded from here. The description is in Ukrainian, but you can still find the calendar by scrolling to the very bottom of the page.

Let’s have 2016 as bright and positive as the pages of the Calendar!