Activity 74: One Word

If you could condense your 2024 New Year’s Resolution into just one word, what would that word be? What would you like to explore more or reflect on in the new year? How could one word offer a lens for this journey?

The idea is not mine: it comes from OneWord365 community where people would come and share their resolutions and word choices at the beginning of a year, and then reflections at the end of the year. You could see people with the same word, and exchange your progress and insights as the year unfolded. The website is on pause now, but as the introduction says, it does not mean that we can’t continue choosing a word and seeing where it leads us.

I learned this idea from a colleague about 10 years ago. Between then and now, I tried this approach with the following words: 

  • 2014: Attention
  • 2016: Kindness
  • 2018: Curiosity
  • 2020: Focus 
  • 2021: Playfulness
  • 2022: Energy
  • 2023: Freedom

Photo by Engin Akyurt on Pexels.com

To me, the experience has been rewarding and exciting. I can’t say I was ever disciplined to do regular reflections or take notes on the word, however, it did bring focus when I needed it. I must say it was especially useful when life seemed to ‘go wrong’ in so many ways: with the pandemic in 2020 or the war in 2022-2023. At the beginning of 2022, for example, by ‘energy’ I meant a productive state of body and mind, an ability to be efficient and effective in how I spend time and communicate with others. Instead, my word helped me notice how to find and manage energy (physical, emotional, intellectual), and how to choose activities that give energy but do not drain you out. This way, I discovered the role of doodling, sketching, drawing, and painting, and noticed the additional value of running long distances. I am aware that some of these insights look obvious or trivial, but as they are a result of ‘lived experience’, they are important to me. I am grateful to the word ‘Energy’ for leading me towards the Art Therapy Course. 

My 2023 word was Freedom. I chose it for many reasons and wanted to learn more about the concept at various levels: philosophy, law (as in Human Rights), culture (Ukraine and abroad, ‘Eastern and Western’ understanding), art, etc. It may be a whole new post, or… it is too personal to share. I can say that I started with ‘freedom from’ idea, and gradually came to ‘freedom to’: freedom to choose, make a decision, take responsibility, act, think, speak. I am grateful to the word Freedom for guiding me towards the Logotherapy and Existential Analysis Course I started two months ago. 

Not surprisingly, my word for 2024 is Meaning. According to Victor Frankl, the founder of this school of psychotherapy, the search for meaning in life is the primary motivation in human beings.  

As promised in the title, this idea can be turned into a classroom activity (‘It’s in (Y)Our Hands’ series): students outline their hand and write the word they choose in the middle of the mind map. Then, for each finger, they think of an area or a question they could focus on in connection with this word. Some more space can be left for future insights about the experience. Also, not all five fingers can be filled with ideas: actually, it is even better if there are 2-3 empty areas so that the word could ‘teach’ us something very new and unexpected. Having done this for several years now, I learned to trust my word and how it can bring intention into my reflection. 

This can be done twice: at the beginning of the year, as a resolution/planning, and at the end, as a reflection on the past year.

Oh, and you can change the word (mid-way, if needed)! It is your life, your goals, your journey, and sometimes, the change is so big that it dictates a new word. In any case, there will be more to reflect on at the end of the year. After all, this is not a Promise to Self, but rather, a chosen destination. 

What would your word for 2024 be? Let me know in the comments if you would like to try the idea with your students, or for yourself. 

Thank you for reading! 🙂

About Zhenya

ELT: teacher educator, trainer coach, reflective practice addict https://wednesdayseminars.wordpress.com/.
This entry was posted in It's in (Y)Our Hands and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Activity 74: One Word

  1. Anonymous says:

    Good morning, Zhenya. The photo of the seagull prompts me to suggest two books for you, both by Richard Bach: Johnaton Livington Seagull and Illusions. (There is an Illusions 2, also, which I have not read.)

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jonathan_Livingston_Seagull

    Jonathan Livingston Seagull is an allegorical fable in novella form written by American author Richard Bach and illustrated with black-and-white photographs shot by Russell Munson, about a seagull who is trying to learn about flying, personal reflection, freedom, and self-realization. It was first published in book form in 1970 with little advertising or expectations; by the end of 1972, over a million copies were in print, the book having reached the number one spot on bestseller lists mostly through word of mouth recommendations.

    https://www.bing.com/shop?q=illusions+by+bach&FORM=SHOPTB

    Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah is a novel by Richard Bach12. It was first published in 1977 and is a follow-up to his 1970 book, Jonathan Livingston Seagull1. The story questions the reader’s view of reality, proposing that what we call reality is merely an illusion we create for learning and enjoyment. It is described as a story with an allegorical message that teaches us how to see reality for what it really is.

    Is there a way you can get these or a way I can send these to you?

    Ron

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anonymous says:

    I wrote a book recommendation, but it didn’t seem to go. Did you receive it?
    Ron

    Like

    • Zhenya says:

      Hi Ron
      Thank you for the book links: both arrived, and I love Richard Bach, especially Jonathan Livingston. Have a copy in Ukrainian on my shelf! 🙂

      Always good to hear from you!
      Zhenya

      Like

  3. Pingback: 2023 Reflective Practice Group Meeting Topics | Wednesday Seminars

  4. Anonymous says:

    Dear Zhenya,

    I’m so glad you and your family are all well and I wish you peace, health and happiness in 2024! Sorry for being lazy and not responding to your posts regularly – I do read them and they are always a pleasure and an inspiration to me.
    I loved the One Word activity and I tried it with my students in December. It was a great success! However, I changed it ‘a bit’. Instead of asking my students to reflect on the year to come, I asked them to reflect on 2023 and choose a word that describes their life/experiences in it best. There were some really lovely ideas there. A student chose the word ‘travel’ and each finger represented a country/place she visited in 2023. Another one’s word was ‘boredom’ and the hand was all coloured in gray and black. Another girl chose ‘opportunities’ and wrote the ones she’d taken in 2023.
    Many thanks for the idea and looking forward to hearing from you again!

    Like

    • Zhenya says:

      Svetlana, such a pleasure to hear from you. Happy 2024 to you and your family. May all the great things from the previous year stay, and all the ‘bad’ ones leave and never come back.

      I fully understand the change in the activity and like it! In fact, I find it hard to create a word for the coming year without fully seeing how this word ‘works’ for the passing year. The examples you have show how we can notice and highlight very different things in the past (‘travel’ as opposed to many other things happening, or ‘boredom’ despite many school and family events, etc. It also gives a nice sharing space, and a practice of supportive listening to each other. Wonderful!

      The work ‘Opportunities’ is exciting as it can also become someone else’s work for the new year. Learning to notice and appreciate them is a great skill. Wishing it to us all!

      Like

  5. Anonymous says:

    Ooops!
    Forgot to sign my name …
    Svetlana, Serbia

    Liked by 1 person

Eager to hear what you think!